The Bones of Summer (Maloney *2)

The Bones of Summer Twitter

This is the second and final book in the Maloney series, but each can be read as a standalone novel. 

When Craig Robertsons religious fanatic father disappears, Craig is forced to return to the home he left behind after an underage affair in order to look for answers. He takes with him his new lover, private investigator Paul Maloney, who is more than willing to help solve the mystery.

The search soon becomes an investigation into Craigs past and, because of distressing gaps in his memory, hes terrified of the truths he might find. As Craigs obsession with uncovering clues grows, his fragile relationship with Paul begins to disintegrate. Haunted and stalked, Craig has to face down the horror of his memories if he wants to have any hope of a future at all.

The Bones of Summer was awarded third place in the 2009 Rainbow Mystery Fiction Awards, and was also Commended in the Writers Conference Novel Competition in 2008.

Buy the Kindle ebook at Amazon

Buy the paperback at Amazon


“This is an exceptionally well written and thrilling mystery novel. It grabbed hold of me almost immediately and would not let me go. I found myself reading until the early morning hours. This plot is quite interesting but what really intrigued me most about this book is Craig himself. He survived a terrible childhood. I admired his resilience. His father’s fanaticism is extremely disturbing and also very sad. The last few chapters are especially chilling and will stay with me for a long time.” (A 4.5 star review at Romance Junkies Reviews)

“Well, Brooke has done it to me again. I read the first book in the series (Maloney’s Law) where Paul Maloney, a broken man, was the main character. At the end of the book, he met Craig Robertson and even though they didn’t  end up together, they established a connection. This is Craig’s story. And what a story it is.” (From a 4 star review at Mrs Condit Reviews)

© Keith Olding 2011